Random thought: Guys and Twilight

I had this thought after hearing a guy on the street the other day, asked by his mate what he thinks of ‘this whole Twilight thing’. The guy answered very abruptly, ‘I wouldn’t know. I’ve never seen it’.

The first thing that came to mind was, any guy who says they have never seen Twilight is either a liar or has never had a girlfriend since the movie came out.

I know that’s probably a bit of an exaggeration, but it wouldn’t surprise me. Most guys are still too scared to admit to liking ‘girly’ things.

I just thought it was funny because I heard the conversation while walking home with my other half shortly after watching New Moon at the cinema.

The movie by the way, wasn’t bad at all. In fact, it was good!

I certainly don’t share MOH’s passion and even addiction to the series but can certainly understand why it is so popular.

Sure, it’s not that deep and it’s meant to be easy to understand and accessible but the bottom line is that it’s interesting and enjoyable. And I’m not at all ashamed to say that.

I do think it’s great that so many girls/women love it though. I was reading through some posts on a sports and gaming forum and one guy said his other half went to see the movie with 20 of her girlfriends from work! He was not impressed, but how is this different from guys watching zombie films? Or even jumping online with their mates for some multiplayer gaming?

As I said, just some random thoughts…

6 Responses to Random thought: Guys and Twilight

  1. unknowntheartist says:

    That’s a very good observation about the guy either lying about not seeing Twilight or not having a girlfriend. Even girls and women I know or meet through work, even if they aren’t fans, they have watched or read Twilight.
    At some point, Twilight will have touched everybody’s life in one way or another. And if it gets too much, you’ve always got a friend at http://twilightwidower.blogspot.com

  2. Gavin says:

    I can honestly say I have never seen the movie(s), nor read any of the books. Nor do I have any desire to.

  3. John Gilmore says:

    A group of my friends went, none of us — guys or girls — being fans of the series, and although we laughed at a lot of the overdone romance stuff, we had a pretty good time.

  4. Saia says:

    OMG! I took the the TWILIGHT QUIZ and found out I’m Bella. I’d love to be Edwards girlfriend!

  5. Wonderfull blog. I bookmarked it and will come back later.

Leave a Reply

